About Us

EMSSA represents a group of enthusiastic healthcare professionals dedicated to the development of quality emergency care throughout South Africa. Emergency Medicine has only recently been recognized as an independent speciality, although this country has always had a large burden of patients presenting to our pre-hospital and hospital emergency services with experienced and passionate personnel rendering much needed care.

These are truly exciting times for everyone involved with emergency care. Have a look at our website for recent developments and to see how you can become more involved.

View the EMSSA Constitution.

Our Objectives

To develop and promote emergency care through teaching, training and education
To promote the speciality of emergency medicine
To advocate for emergency care in South Africa
To lobby on behalf of members of the Emergency Medicine Society of South Africa for the promotion of and maintenance of the profession

 

EMSSA Executive Committee

  President: Melanie Stander

melaniestander@sun.ac.za
@EMStander

 
  Vice-President: Prof Roger Dickerson

roger.dickerson@wits.ac.za
EMSSA Research Committee
@RogerDickerson

 
  Secretary & Treasurer: Mande Toubkin

Mande.toubkin@netcare.co.za
@mtoubkin

 

EMSSA Management Committee

 

Martin Botha    –   ARREST SIG
martin.botha@internationalsos.com

 
 

Prof Petra Brysiewicz – ENSSA immediate past president
EMSSA research committee
brysiewiczp@ukzn.ac.za
@PetraBrysiewicz

 
   

Dr Baljit Cheema  –   PECSA SIG
baljit.cheema@uct.ac.za

 
   

Tanya Heyns – ENSSA President
Tanya.heyns@up.ac.za

 
 

Dr Steve Holt – Private emergency medicine
SteveH@erconsulting.co.za
@DrSteveHolt

 
 

Dr Tiyiselani Mabasa – CME
mabasa@mdinc.co.za

 
   

Sue-Ann Mohapi –   Communication & Membership
sue-ann.mohapi@netcare.co.za

 
   

Dr Naas Posma –  CME
naas10@gmail.com

 
 

Dr Anne Smith  –  Newsletter & Communication
annebsmith@gmail.com
@annestir

 
   

Dr Michele Twomey – Triage SIG
Michele@emssa.org.za
@MicheleTwomey

 
   

Prof Mike Wells –  Ultrasound SIG
Private Emergency Medicine
mike.wells@emergencymedicine.co.za
@docmikewells